Thursday, September 18, 2008

GCC Presents . . .Linda Gerber!!!



Hey Everyone-

I'm so thrilled that amazing author and fellow Teen Fiction Cafe patron, Linda Gerber, stopped by to chat with us about her new book, DEATH BY LATTE, released today! She has all sorts of fun planned for the launch, including a world class blog party you will not want to miss! Just click HERE for your chance to win prizes!

Oh, and even better, since there's a lying theme to it all, you'll also learn about some of the BIG FAT LIES your favorite authors have told- including yours truly!

Except that I don't lie--seriously.
Other than that last sentence. And this one that follows, I've a strict no  lying policy--I swear!

But first-- here's the lowdown on Linda's new book:

Following on the heels of this summer’s killer YA mystery, DEATH BY BIKINI, DEATH BY LATTE (Puffin Paperback; September 18, 2008; $9.99) is a modern-day romantic mystery/suspense in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Philippa Carr.
DEATH BY LATTE Aphra Connolly, who had been living a quiet existence on her father’s secluded island resort, until Seth Mulo turns up and steals her heart… and provides information that leads her to find her mom in Seattle. But the reunion isn’t quite what she expected. Aphra’s mom, Natalie, doesn’t seem happy to see Aphra, and Natalie’s boyfriend, Joe, insists that Aphra go home. Even worse, Seth shows up, only to ask her to return the ring he had given her that summer. At least Natalie’s good-looking neighbor is sympathetic. But when Joe is found dead at a nearby coffee shop, Aphra discovers her whole trip to Seattle has been based on a lie. And now someone just might be trying to kill her. . . .

Praise for DEATH BY LATTE:

“Great characters, plot twists, and non-stop action and excitement.”-YA Books Central
“Full of action, suspense, and mystery, Death by Latte is a thrilling edition to the Death by series!”-The Story Siren
“An entertaining Seattle joy ride that… teens will appreciate.”-Genre-go-Round Reviews
“Death by Latte is a compelling read for those who like mystery, action, and adventure with a little romance and humor thrown in for good measure.”-Purple Pens Reviews
“Enjoyed quite thoroughly!”-Critical Mass
“This exciting installment features non-stop thrills and leaves you guessing right up to the end.”-Presenting Lenore
“High action and suspense.”-Library Thing

Praise for the DEATH BY series:
“Will capture mystery fans.”- G. Engberg - Booklist
“Strong writing and plenty of plot twists.”-The Providence Journal
“Fast-paced, fun, and maybe just a little scary.”-YA New YorkJust “the right amount of intrigue, suspense, humor and romance.”-Flamingnet Book Reviews
“Five enchantments.”-Enchanting Reviews
“Refreshing read.”-Simply Books

And now, the same 5 questions we always ask:

1. Every story has a backstory, what's the backstory for your book?
A few years back, I had written a short story as an exercise for a writers' forum. I had so much fun with it that I decided to develop it a little more until eventually it grew to book length, though it was never intended for anyone's eyes but my own. Meanwhile, I
 had sold a couple of books to Puffin and - in a moment of utter insanity - I decided to take a chance and show my for-fun book to my editor. She liked it. DEATH BY LATTE is book two in a three-book contract I earned from that moment of insanity.

2. What's your work environment like? Any rituals, totems, or must haves? 
I'm a mom who travels, so I have to be really flexible with my work environment. I've written my share of chapters on the sidelines, in airports or on trains. Some of my fav
orite places to write: in Japan I had a desk in our living room that overlooked a stand of bamboo and a sakura tree. Sigh. In our current house I have my own office, but my favorite place to write is in an easy chair,
 looking out at the woods in our back yard. My mojo is a little sumo figurine I got in Tokyo. He stands on my desk in the office looking fierce and telling me to stop messing around on youtube and get back to work…

3. If you could live inside any book-- which would it be?
Oooh. That's tough because there are so many places to choose. I'd love to live in Ella's world in Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted. And I wouldn't mind living in that haunted bedroom in Meg Cabot's Mediator series as long as it came complete with the hot Spanish ghost!

4. What book rocked your world growing up?
I don't know about rocking my world, but the book I remember as the turning point for me where I became a full-blown book addict was As the Red Fern Grows. It was the first book I stayed up all night under the covers reading because I had to know what was going to happen next. That was way back in grade school, but still tear up thinking about that final scene with the fern between the dogs' graves. *sniff* And I've had many an all-night book affair since then!

5. If you could visit any time, place, or person- what, where, or who would it be?
I'd go back to Los Angeles the 20's and hang out with my Grandpa, Leo Cowan. He was really cool and had a great sense of humor when I knew him (he died several years ago) and from the stories he told, he was kind of a rebel when he was young. It would have been a kick to know him then.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Linda recently returned to life in the Midwest after four years in Japan, where she served as the Regional Advisor for the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. She currently lives and writes in Dublin, OH, blissfully ignoring her husband, four kids, and one very naughty puppy.

Where to find her:
Website:
http://lindagerber.com
Facebook: http://www.new.facebook.com/profile.php?id=518643863
Myspace:
http://www.myspace.com/gerbsplace
Blogger:
http://lindagerber.blogspot.com/
Twitter:
http://twitter.com/gerbsan

19 comments:

Gerb said...

Hi, Alyson! Thanks for the tour. Lovely view. : )

Alyson Noel said...

Hey Linda-
Thanks for stopping by!

keri mikulski :) said...

Love the sumo wrestler. :)

pepsivanilla said...

Your view in Japan sounds so calming and peaceful :) It's a shame you can't have the same view in your office! Great interview :)

Alyson Noel said...

Hey Keri & Pepsivanilla-- Thanks for stopping by!!

Laura said...

Your sumo figure is the greatest. Really and truly.

sweetmelissa818 said...

I had a friend who went to Japan for what was supposed to be a year and since then, he's been back once...in four years. I hear it's amazing.

Liviania said...

Good choice of books to live in.

I love the sumo wrestler! I keep all sorts of things by my desk to play with, but maybe I should get one to remind me to go back to work.

Anonymous said...

I always love your stories and your writing! Great post!

Rachel R.
mybkclub@aol.com
mybkclub.com

Alyson Noel said...

Laura- SweetMelissa- Liviana- and Rachel-- Thanks so much for stopping by!
Linda was a great interview- wasn't she??

Breanna said...

I love that sumo figure! He's adorable! lol

It's great how you came up with the idea for the DEATH BY series. I'm glad you developed your story more to be able to write a full book plus the two others!

-Breanna

ellie said...

The sumo wrestler is extremely unique and inspiring.

K8 said...

Great post ^^ I'm tempted to go get the first book...

TruBlu93 said...

i was totally crushing on a seth last year. we're just good friends how though.. hehe

Shooting Stars Mag said...

Fun questions. I don't know what book i would want to live inside of...probably a ton.

That's really cool she lived in japan for awhile. what a neat experience!

-Lauren

danetteb said...

Hi Linda,

My girls love Ella Enchanted(movie version) they laugh the whole time :)

Hugs, Danette

Book~Adorer said...

Ella Enchanted is my all-time favorite book. Wheneve i'm asked what character would you be it's usually her(or Gemma from the Libba Bray sereies, love em both).

Paradox said...

I love Ella Enchanted too, but I haven't read the Mediator books yet.

Book Spot said...

Puppies do love to get in trouble, don't they? And I'd love to spend some time in the 20s, too...

Fantastic sumo wrestler!
-Lucile